Tamilnadu Govt. Website Cuddalore District Website Districts of Tamilnadu


Formation of the District

 The    history   of    the    systematic administration   of   the  Land   Revenue of   erstwhile      South Arcot District  begins  with  the   acquisition from the Nawab  in  1801, when the Nawab made  over  the Carnatic  to  the  Company , Captain   Graham  was  appointed  to   take charge  of the  District  lying  between Palar and Portonovo rivers  and  become the first Collector South Arcot.

The then district consisted of the 21 Taluks of Arcot, Vellore, Thiruvathur, Polur, Arani     (  The  Jagir  of  that name  )  Wandiwash, Chetpet ,  Thiruvannamalai ,  Gingee ,Tindivanam , Valudavur,  Villupuram , Anniyur ,  Tirukoilur ,  Thiruvennainallur , Tiruvadi ,  Elavanasur, Kallakurichi , Vridhachalam ,  Tittagudi  and  Bhuvanagiri but excluded the form of Fort St.David and the territory of Pondicherry, both of which had been separately acquired and were separately administered. In April 1805, the then  Taluk  of   Mannarkudi  ( which is included  in  what  is  now  known  as Chidambaram )  was added from Tiruchirapalli  to  this  huge  charge.

In 1808, However Arcot, Vellore, Thiruvathur ,  Polur ,  and   Arani   Jagir   were transferred to North  Arcot  and  Wandiwash to Cheingelput  while  the  Fort  St.David  and Pondicherry  villages    (which at different time had  been  under  both,  the  Collector and the commercial   resident  at  Cuddalore)  were incorporated with the District. In 1816, Pondicherry was finally restored to the French and erstwhile South Arcot assumed practically its position.    Cuddalore  ,   which is   District Headquarters for South Arcot District for more than a century. This has been mentioned everywhere in the history. The present Cuddalore District has been formed on 30.9.1993.

In puraana this district is described as part of Sri. Rama Khetra. This district is a primitive one. Vridhachalam is an  example where mountain once prevailed disappeared at times.Historic evidence available from madras district gazetteers south arcot published in 1962 reveals that the name Arcot derived from Tamil Aaru kadu i.e. six forests which was said to be the abode of six rishis. This district in Tamil called Thondai Nadu and in particular Nadu Naadu .   It has a speciality Saandror udaithu i.e great and elite personalities possession of the district.

To prove it saivaite pathmakers Thirunaukkarasu, Sundarar born in this district. Maikaudar one of the sithas out of eighteen born in this district. This district is proud of possessing as birth place of Vallalar Ramalingar.

Ovvaiyar, the Tamil poetess gave in marriage angavai, sangavai, the daughters of pari the vallal in Tirukoilur to the king Deiviekan.

The famous typical and universal logic temple of Sri Natarajan is situated in this district. It is an interesting subject to scientists and innovators to research on the dancing postage of Lord Sri. Nataraja.